Safety Planning with Sexual Assault Survivors

Event Date: 
Thursday, December 12, 2019 - 2:30pm
Event Location: 
Webinar
Victim Rights Law Center Leading a New Response to Sexual Violence Safety Planning with Sexual Assault Survivors Webinar + 30-minute Share and Learn Session Thursday, December 12th 11:30am-1pm Pacific /2:30-4pm Eastern Whether it is a single incident or an ongoing pattern of abuse, sexual assault can undermine a victim’s physical and emotional safety— effective safety plans empower victims and can help them reclaim a sense of safety and security. This 60-minute webinar will address the importance of safety planning for victims of non-intimate partner sexual assault, explore how safety planning for these survivors may be different than safety planning with domestic violence victims, and provide tips for using the VRLC's OVW-approved safety planning guides, which include population-specific guides to safety planning with LGBTQ survivors, on college campuses, and with survivors experiencing homelessness. The webinar will include a discussion of strategies for protecting victim privacy, discussing emotional safety, and providing survivor-centered safety planning. Following this webinar, we will immediately host a Share and Learn session for participants who wish to deepen our conversation with case-specific strategies and tips on safety planning with survivors of sexual assault. Details What: Webinar + Share and Learn Session: Safety Planning with Sexual Assault Survivors Date/Time: Thursday, December 12th, 2019 11:30AM PT / 12:30PM MT / 1:30PM CT / 2:30PM ET Intended Audience: Registration Link: OVW-funded attorneys, advocates, and other victim service providers https://ta2ta.org/webinars/registration/safety-planning-with-sexual-assault-survivors-30-m.html