Protecting the Privacy and Confidentiality of Survivors Who Are Incarcerated and Detained

Event Date: 
Tuesday, July 30, 2019 - 2:00pm
Event Location: 
Webinar

Protecting the Privacy and Confidentiality of Survivors Who Are Incarcerated and Detained

Webinar: July 30, 2019 at 10:00 a.m. Alaska Time / 11:00 a.m. Pacific Time / 12:00 p.m. Mountain Time / 1:00 p.m. Central Time / 2:00 p.m. Eastern Time

This webinar will explore how to provide confidential services to survivors of sexual assault, dating and domestic violence, and stalking who are incarcerated or detained. The Victim Rights Law Center and our project partner, Jaime Yarussi, formerly with the Project on Addressing Prison Rape, will facilitate this interactive webinar to help participants answer such questions as: Why is confidentiality important in custodial settings? What challenges do survivors of sexual and interpersonal violence face with access to confidential victim services in these settings? How can confidentiality, privilege, and mandatory reporting laws affect these services? We will draw on the experience of attendees, explore relevant parts of the Violence Against Women Act, the Prison Rape Elimination Act, and other law, and offer concrete tips for providing confidential services to confined survivors.

Details

What: 90-minute Webinar, Protecting the Privacy and Confidentiality of Survivors Who Are Incarcerated and Detained

Date: Tuesday, July 30th, 2019

Time: 10:00AM AKT / 11:00AM PT / 12:00PM MT / 1:00PM CT / 2:00PM ET

Register