Identifying and Addressing the Housing Needs of Sexual Assault Survivors

Event Date: 
Wednesday, May 31, 2017 - 2:00pm
Event Location: 
Webinar

 

Webinar Date/Time:

 

Wednesday, May 31st, 2017
11:00 AM PT/12:00 PM MT/1:00 PM CT/2:00 PM ET

 

 

Intended Audience:

 

Registration Link:

 

Attorneys and advocates. Open to LAV grantees and grant partners.

 

https://ta2ta.org/vrlc-housingneeds-sa-may31

Description: The majority of sexual assaults are committed by a non-intimate partner and more than half of sexual assaults occur where the victim lives. Housing protections traditionally available to domestic violence survivors are often unavailable to sexual assault survivors. And those protections that are available to sexual assault survivors struggle to shift from the domestic violence paradigm and address the unique needs of sexual assault survivors. This webinar will provide detailed practice tips on how to advocate for housing remedies for sexual assault survivors. The presenters will discuss early lease terminations, emergency transfers, perpetrator evictions, and reasonable accommodations.

Event Type: